About Walkerbouts Inn - Rhodes
NB: FUEL IS A PROBLEM IN RHODES. PLEASE FILL UP IN BARKLY EAST, ELLIOT OR MACLEAR BEFORE VENTURING INTO THE MOUNTAINS.
Walkerbouts Inn - Rhodes was established almost two decades ago by the proprietor, Dave Walker. It is located on the same site as the original farmhouse on the farm "Tintern" on which the village of Rhodes was established in 1891. It is in an elevated position on the western side of Rhodes on a quiet cul de sac with a stunning view across the village.
Attending trade shows such as Indaba, Hooked on Fishing, the Grahamstown Festival, Getaway shows and many others on behalf of the local tourism industry, Walker was accordingly nicknamed "Walkabout" by Leon Isted, a late great friend from the farm Bidstone who is sorely missed. On establishing the venue, it was a natural conclusion that the name should be a corruption of the nickname and became "Walkerbouts Inn - Rhodes".
"Opstal" as it was known at the time, had been used by the founders of the Tiffindell Ski Resort in the early 90s until the fledgling resort could accommodate it's own staff on site. A process of upgrading the establishment from the "glorified backpackers" state to it's current condition ensued. A major revamp took place in 1999 and was completed by June of that year. En-suite bathrooms were added and the premises extended to include a sunny lounge, office and bar dining-room. The lounge is the perfect haven in winter with the sun pouring in warms it up while the icy winter breezes blow by outside. Walkerbouts was graded by a representative of the AA Quality Assured Programme shortly after the millennium and accorded a "Recommended" rating. Although no longer a participant in the AAQAP, the high standards have been maintained and it has a 3-star rating awarded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.